Election Commission Announces Bihar Assemble Election Dates


The election commission has announced the voting dates for Bihar Assembly Elections, and it has extended the polling time in Bihar. Voters can cast their votes from 7 a.m., till 6 p.m. The covid-19 patients and those under Quarantine can cast their votes in the last hour reserved for them.

Election Commission is organising the elections in fewer phases this year to minimise the movement of security personnel and to ensure they’re well being. The elections will happen in three phases on October 28, November 3 and 7. The counting of votes and declaration of results will occur on November 10.

In the first phase of voting, 71 seats with 31000 polling stations well go to polls. In the second phase 94 seats will have 42000 polling stations, 3rd phase 78 seats will have 33,500 polling stations.

After this announcement by the election commission, the model code of conduct comes into force in Bihar. Because of the pandemic, many campaign steps must be taken to ensure the safety of both politicians and voters. Bihar’s 243 member assembly will expire on October 29.
Several countries have held elections during the Corona outbreak.

However, Chief Election Commissioner Arora said that Bihar polls are likely to be the largest elections conducted during the pandemic. There are approximately 72.9 million electors in the state. The polls will require more than 600,000 PPE kits. For these elections, they would use 46,00,000 masks, 700,000 hand sanitisers and 600,000 face shields.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here