Assembly Elections 2021: TMC Sweeps Bengal While LDF Takes Kerala

The counting of votes for assembly election in four states continued in India. As the country struggled with the deadly second wave of covid-19 pandemic, elections continued in states of West Bengal, Kerala, Tamil Nadu and Assam. The Union territory Puducherry was also electing its legislators.

The counting of votes for assembly elections in these States is underway. However, the trends have more or less clarified the future governments in these states.

The most controversial election was that of West Bengal. Prime minister Narendra Modi was the face of BJP in Bengal elections. Meanwhile, Home minister Amit Shah did numerous rallies to woo the voters of West Bengal. The West Bengal legislative assembly has a total of 294 seats. And, despite many hard efforts from the BJP, the Trinamool Congress is up for a landslide victory.

video ads

Mamata Banerjee, the tigress of Bengal managed a hattrick. Leading on 214 seats, the Trinamool Congress has also gained 9 seats. BJP has managed a lead on 77 seats. While the left front managed a big fat zero.

Interestingly, Mamata has lost election from her own constituency Nandigram. From Nandigram, the chief minister lost to BJP’s Suvendu Adhikari with a close margin. In a press conference, she said, “I accept the verdict in Nandigram- it is not a big deal. Don’t worry”.

In Assam, it’s a relief for BJP. As they are ahead of the nearest rival, Congress. At 12 midnight, BJP was leading on 59 seats. Congress had lead on 36, AIUDF on 16, AGP on 9, BPF on 4. Other parties were leading on 8 seats. Assam has 126 assembly seats, out of which 64 are required for a majority.

In Kerala, Pinarayi Vijayan led LDF has made a clean sweep. The incumbent Kerala chief minister one from Dharmadam constituency with a historic margin of 50,000 votes. KK Shailaja, Kerala health minister was globally applauded for efficiently handling the COVID-19 pandemic situation in Kerala. She also scored a big win. A teacher by profession, Shailaja won with the margin of over 60,000 votes from her constituency.

The CPIM has won 62 seats and emerged as the largest party. Congress managed 21 seeds in Kerala. CPI won 17 seats, while IUML got 15 seats. The BJP however, once again could not open its account in Kerala.

The DMK let by MK Stalin also has a clear edge in Tamilnadu. DMK is in alliance with Congress in the state, while AIADMK has partnered with PMK and BJP. Counting is still underway in Tamilnadu. DMK is leading on 133 seats, while Congress is leading on 17 seats. AIADMK has a lead on 68 seats, while BJP has managed a lead on 4 seats in Tamilnadu. The state has a total of 234 seats, and 118 seats are required for majority.

AINRC led NDA has swept Puducherry. Puducherry has a total of 30 seats, out of which 16 are needed for majority. AINRC has won 10 seats in Puducherry, while the BJP and DMK managed to bag 6 seats each. And the INC has to suffice with 2 seats only.