93,249 Cases Reported in India on Sunday : Eight States Account For Over 80 Percent Of New COVID Cases

The COVID-19 virus is once again wreaking havoc in the country. On Sunday, 93,249 new corona patients appeared in the country. At the same time, more than 500 patients lost their lives. This figure of corona infection is the highest so far this year. Eighty percent of the new corona patients found on Sunday were from eight states of the country.

After the hike in cases on Sunday, the total cases of infection in the country has increased to 1 crore 24 lakh 85 thousand 509. Meanwhile, the number of deaths from COVID has increased to one lakh 64 thousand 623. According to the latest health ministry data, 80 percent of the cases are from Maharashtra, Chhattisgarh, Karnataka, Delhi, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh and Gujarat.

The ministry said that there are now 6 lakh 91 thousand 597 active cases of corona in the country. This is 5.54 percent of the total infected. Within the last 24 hours, 32 thousand 688 active cases of corona virus have increased across the country. Karnataka, Maharashtra, Chhattisgarh, Kerala and Punjab together hold 76.41 percent of these shares. Maharashtra alone accounts for 58.19 percent of the country’s active cases.

video ads

Maharashtra and Punjab broke previous records

Meanwhile, Maharashtra and Punjab have reported the highest number of daily cases of corona virus infection since last two weeks. The administration provided this data to the media. The Union Health Ministry presented the documents in the Cabinet Secretary’s meeting with all the states and union territories of the country. They also stated that these two states are breaking all their old records. These states and union territories also include Chandigarh, Chhattisgarh and Gujarat.

Not here, not a single death from Corona

Amidst the worrying news, there are 14 states and union territories in the country where there has not been a single death due to corona infection within the last 24 hours. These states include Odisha, Assam, Puducherry, Ladakh, Daman-Diu, Dadar Nagar Haveli, Nagaland, Meghalaya, Manipur, Tripura, Sikkim, Lakshadweep, Mizoram, Andaman and Nicobar Islands and Arunachal Pradesh.